Home » RISA Directorates » RCCE

DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Catalysis (C*change)

(hosted by the University of Cape Town)
Research at this centre focuses on chemical catalysis mainly for the conversion of gas liquid fuels and for downstream processing that adds value to bulk chemicals.

DST-NRF Centre of Excellence Birds as Keys to Biodiversity Conservation

The Centre of Excellence in Birds as key to Biodiversity Conservation at the Percy Fitz Patrick Institute ishosted by the University of Cape Town. The centre is committed focusing on understanding and maintaining biodiversity using birds as indicators.

DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Strong Material (SM)

(Hosted by the University of the Witwatersrand).
This centre studies hard materials, metal alloys, metal oxides, ceramics, diamond-like materials and composites including carbon nanotubes. Strong materials retain their distinctive scientific and applied properties under extreme conditions and have established or potential commercial applications.

DST-NRF Centre of Excellence for Invasion Biology (CIB)

(hosted by the University of Stellenbosch)

The centre is concerned with the biology of invasive species, with special emphasis on the impact that invasive species have on southern Africa’s biodiversity, agriculture and eco-tourism. 

South African Research Chairs Initiative

The South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI)

The South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) was established in 2006 by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and the National Research Foundation (NRF). It is designed to attract and retain excellence in research and innovation at South African public universities through the establishment of Research Chairs at public universities in South Africa with a long-term investment trajectory of up to fifteen years.

Centres of Excellence

Funding Instrument of the RCCE

DST - NRF Centres of Excellence