Home » Events » ARUA Launch Conference

ARUA Launch Conference

Accra, Ghana 3 - 4 April 2017

The NRF supports the African Research Universities Alliance (ARUA) through a foundation grant. Established in 2015, the Consortium is a strategic alliance of research intensive universities, bringing together their distinctive fields of expertise to achieve complementary and coordinated programmes of research and training to the key development priorities of the African continent. Sixteen research-strong partner universities are represented in the Alliance, with six from South Africa:

  • Nigeria: University of Lagos, University of Ibadan, Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Ghana: University of Ghana; Tanzania: University of Dar es Salaam
  • South Africa: University of the Witwatersrand, University of Stellenbosch, University of Pretoria, Rhodes University and the University of Cape Town, University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Kenya: University of Nairobi
  • Rwanda: University of Rwanda
  • Senegal: Université Cheikh Anta Diop
  • Uganda: Makerere University
  • Ethiopia: University of Addis Ababa