Home » Media room » Press Releases » NRF Grantholders Win AU Science Awards

NRF Grantholders Win AU Science Awards

Professor Felix Dapare Dakora of Ghana, Professor Catherine Ngila of Kenya and Professor Celia Abolnik of South Africa were among the winners of the African Union's science award held in Ethiopia's capital of Addis Ababa.

Prof Ngila, based at the University of Johannesburg, and Prof Abolnik, based at the University of Pretoria, were among five African women to win the 2016 AU Kwame Nkrumah Science Awards for Women. Prof Ngila is a National Research Foundation grantholder and rated researcher. Her area of research is analytical-environmental chemistry on water resource management. Prof Abolnik holds two NRF grants and is also a NRF rated researcher, working in the area of avian respiratory viruses, especially those that effect chicken and ostrich production in Africa. The winners were presented with their awards on 24 January 2017 during the Opening Ceremony of the Gender Pre-Summit, of the 28th AU Heads of States and Government Assembly.

Prof Dakora is a plant and soil biotechnology professor at the Tshwane University of Technology in Pretoria and is also a NRF grantholder. He won the AU Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award for his work on the interaction between legumes and social micro-organisms allowing bacterium to convert the 78% of nitrogen gas in the atmosphere into forms that plants can use among other benefits. He was presented with his award on 30 January 2017.

Prof Catherine Ngila   Prof Felix Dapare Dakora   Prof Celia Abolnik


Press Release