Flagship Programme

Funding Instrument of the RCCE

The Department of Science and Innovation (DSI) – National Research Foundation (NRF) Flagship Programme initiative was established in 2013 by the previous Department of Science and Technology (now called the Department of Science and Innovation).. The Flagship Programme is a scientific research or innovation programme in an area that is unique to an institution or in which the institution excels in a way that will or already affords it a comparative advantage. The objective of this programme is to support (i) knowledge production within a chosen area that addresses the university’s research and national priorities as articulate in the National Development Plan and other core policy prescripts of the Government. (ii) develop institutional research capacity, and (iii) research excellence and transform the science cohort. There are currently three active Flagship Projects of which the first two Flagship Projects were awarded in 2016, namely, “Hydrogen Intensity And Real-Time Analysis Experiment (Hirax): Mapping The Southern Sky” at the University of KwaZulu-Natal and “Critical thought in African Humanities” at the University of the Western Cape, followed in 2019 by “Design, service delivery, manufacturing skills development, energy and water technologies” at the Tshwane University of Technology.

DSI-NRF Flagship on Critical thought in African Humanities
The DSI-NRF Flagship on Critical Thought in African Humanities was established in 2016 and is hosted by the University of Western Cape and is located in their Centre for Humanities Research (CHR). This Flagship Project is designed to host scholars and students from South African universities, public institutions and national and international research bodies in a collaborative initiative to forge the next generation of humanities scholars, committed to the demands of building a post-apartheid South Africa. It is under the leadership of Professor Premesh Lalu.
DSI-NRF Flagship on Hydrogen intensity and Real-time Analysis Experiment (HIRAX): Mapping the Southern Sky
HIRAX is a radio interferometer array project which was established in 2016 and led by the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN). This Flagship Project is hosted as a guest instrument by the South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO) and managed by a consortium which includes five additional South African institutions: the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS), Durban University of Technology (DUT), Rhodes University (RU), University of Cape Town (UCT), and the University of Western Cape (UWC). The Flagship is under the leadership of Professor Kavillan Moodley.
DSI-NRF Flagship on Research and Innovation for Societal Development
The focus of the Flagship Initiative is technology transfer (TT) from TUT to the community. This involves physical artefacts, dynamic processes, knowledge transfer and skills development. The research effort has three layers: basic science research, engineering research and research on the management and pedagogy of the technology transfer process. This Flagship Project was awarded funding by the NRF in 2019. The project is hosted by Tshwane University of Technology and is under the leadership of Professor JL Munda.