The annual NRF Awards recognise and celebrate South African research excellence. The awards presented to researchers are in two categories, the ratings linked awards and special recognition awards. The rating linked awards are given to those who have qualified for an A or P rating, as evaluated through the peer review based NRF rating system. The special recognition awards provide a platform to honour researchers for career achievements and contributions to knowledge creation and dissemination, as well as capacity development and transformation.

NRF Awards 2021


NRF Excelleration Award for South African Research Institutions
Hamilton Naki Award
Excellence in Science Engagement Award
A-Rated Researchers
P-Rated Researchers
Research Excellence Award for Early Career / Emerging Researchers
Research Excellence Award for Next Generation Researchers
Public Engagement with Research
Science Team
Champion of Research Capacity Development and Transformation at South African Higher Education Institutions
NRF Awards Principal Sponsors