Announcement of Successful Applications Black Academics Advancement Programme

Announcement of Successful Applications – Black Academics Advancement Programme

The National Research Foundation (NRF) embarked on a strategic partnership with the FirstRand Foundation (FRF) and introduced the Black Academics Advancement Programme to promote the development of Black South African academics and South African academics with disabilities, to become nationally and internationally recognised researchers. We are pleased to announce the provisional 2022 awards for the Black Academics Advancement Programme. These awards enable academics in the PhD- and Post-PhD tracks to spend up to three (3) years undertaking full-time research. The awards have been made based on the merit review of applications and, according to the programme objectives and equity targets. The successful applications for the 2022 academic year are listed in

Table 1 that follows:


  • If your name appears in the table that follows, you have been successful in receiving a provisional award for 2023.
  • The NRF will forward award letters to successful candidates in January 2023.
  • The NRF feedback on the review of applications will be forwarded to all unsuccessful applicants by end of February 2023.
  • Once you have received the Conditions of grant (CoG), please read through the agreement carefully before accepting the award.
  • All signed and completed documentation must be submitted to the Research Office of your institution for approval and uploading on the NRF submission system.
  • Funds will only be released once the completed CoG together with other required documentation has been received by the NRF.
  • Awards not taken up within two months (2) months after awarding, will be automatically cancelled, unless otherwise approved by the NRF

Table 1. Successful applicants for the 2023: Black Academics Advancement Programme

# Applicant’s Reference Name(s) Surname Funding Track Applicant’s Institution
1 BAAP2204092865 Brian Ngobeni PhD Central University of Technology
2 BAAP22060920380 Mokgadi Makgobole PhD Durban University of Technology
3 BAAP22061422338 Vuyolwethu Mdunyelwa PhD Nelson Mandela University
4 BAAP2204123227 Muzi Shoba PhD Nelson Mandela University
5 BAAP2204224255 Debrah Mtshelwane PhD North-West University
6 BAAP2205129674 Kgomotso Malinga PhD North-West University
7 BAAP22051410557 Kedumetse Motlhankane PhD North-West University
8 BAAP2205098140 Sandiso Bazana PhD Rhodes University
9 BAAP2204052075 Mosima Anna Masethe PhD Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
10 BAAP22051912617 Mmatlou Jerida PhD Sol Plaatje University
11 BAAP2204193733 Sinazo Bali PhD Stellenbosch University
12 BAAP2204254599 Thembekile Dhlamini PhD Stellenbosch University
13 BAAP2204173629 Mariam Salie PhD Stellenbosch University
14 BAAP2204254744 Solomzi Ngalonkulu PhD Tshwane University of Technology
15 BAAP2204285086 Elesa Ntuli PhD Tshwane University of Technology
16 BAAP2205046114 Tebogo Ramatlo PhD Tshwane University of Technology
17 BAAP2204082782 Tsholofelo Tladi PhD Tshwane University of Technology
18 BAAP2204082668 Mathabo Baase PhD University of Cape Town
19 BAAP2204062260 Shivasi Mashau PhD University of Cape Town
20 BAAP2204102951 Nomusa Ntinga PhD University of Cape Town
21 BAAP2204021672 Lyndal Pottier PhD University of Cape Town
22 BAAP2204062284 Malibongwe Manono Post-PhD University of Cape Town
23 BAAP2203311340 Gregory Maxaulane Post-PhD University of Cape Town
24 BAAP220323523 Nodumo Zulu Post-PhD University of Cape Town
25 BAAP2204052098 Sthabile Kolwa Post-PhD University of Johannesburg
26 BAAP2205035919 Mbalenhle Mpanza Post-PhD University of Johannesburg
27 BAAP2204214109 Lungile Buthelezi PhD University of KwaZulu-Natal
28 BAAP22052414177 Lungelo Mbatha PhD University of KwaZulu-Natal
29 BAAP2205036083 Phakeme Mkhize PhD University of KwaZulu-Natal
30 BAAP2204275022 Luther Monareng PhD University of KwaZulu-Natal
31 BAAP22052514643 Bongani Ndlovu PhD University of KwaZulu-Natal
32 BAAP2204143433 Hafsa Essop PhD University of Pretoria
33 BAAP2204072616 Nombulelo Sepeng Post-PhD University of Pretoria
34 BAAP2204285122 Oratile Sehoole PhD University of Pretoria
35 BAAP2204041947 Nandipha David PhD University of South Africa
36 BAAP2204203879 Katlego Gustaff Koopa PhD University of South Africa
37 BAAP2204254625 Sifeziwe Ntoyanto PhD University of South Africa
38 BAAP2204254611 Johannes Mampane Post-PhD University of South Africa
39 BAAP2205046380 Hadio Rose Motaung PhD University of the Free State
40 BAAP2204224303 Lorato Mokwena Post-PhD University of the Western Cape
41 BAAP2204254646 Gareth Smithdorf PhD University of the Western Cape
42 BAAP2204193745 Fazlyn Petersen Post-PhD University of the Western Cape
43 BAAP22051611144 Fatima Peters PhD University of Venda
44 BAAP2204082813 Mbukeni Andrew Nkomo Post-PhD University of Zululand
45 BAAP2204295364 Hlengiwe Phetha Phetha Post-PhD University of Zululand
46 BAAP22051611000 Ntobeko Shozi Post-PhD University of Zululand

We congratulate all the 2023 awardees

Related Posts